War Journal Post #003 – The Nomadic Life

I remember thinking finally this will be different.  I remember thinking that we had finally found a home before ours was so rudely taken from us, bit by bit, brick by brick.  We had finally found a place where we could hang again.  We had found a home.  All was going well…

 BOOM!

That was the sound of some idiot putting a fucking phishing scam on our server and now our home has imploded.

 Of course, this time things were different but the same.  This wasn’t due to massive neglect by an admin who had sold us out, oh no.  This was due to some idiot who thought, “They’d never catch me here…”  Fucking tool.  Plus, I suspect, a hosting company who didn’t think we’d generate so much traffic and now wanted to be rid of us (and no Keith, I’m not talking about your partner – I’m talking about the hosting company itself).  You see, I have some network experience as do many of us in our little “familia” and also realized that most, if not all, phishing scams are e-mail based.  Even if this one was not, it can be traced rather easily.  So, the logical route would be either:

a) delete the tool’s account and do some routine maintenance…

b) set the smtp protocols so that this wouldn’t happen again

c) periodically scan the blogs for any extra activity.

All in all, that ain’t so hard.  Especially for a reputable hosting company.  Still, we are without a home and worse still, our blogs that we’ve worked hard on maintaining are now in limbo.  Now, before anyone gets crazy, the last person I blame is Keith.  This is not his fault in any way, shape, or form.  Remember, this guy was doing this for the love – you can’t get on him because we ain’t paying for squat and he ain’t getting paid.  Plus, he got hosed just like us.

 Still, we once again are nomads.  Finding homes away from home and now having to find our family holed up in different venues.

Heidi came up with the amazing “Blog Nomads” portal/blog site and if you look to your right, you’ll see the link.  Use it.  Meanwhile, over at same right you’ll see some blogs already linked.  We will find each other.  We will watch each other’s backs and support one another as we always do.

We’re family.  It’s how we get down.  And nothing will ever change that…

P.S. – You’ll notice each post has begun with “War Journal Post #….”.  That might change to “WJP #…” but all will be tagged with some number.  I always wanted to do that and now I have the opportunity to start fresh.

~ by sladewilson on September 11, 2007.

7 Responses to “War Journal Post #003 – The Nomadic Life”

  1. WJP comment #2 on WJP #3…
    That sucks, for the server to be yanked. All your posts are there though. Just search for your name and select the “Cached” link and you can copy and paste all your posts.
    Also use the waybackmachine to find everything else. Good to see you back.

  2. Yeah it all sucks, I still got peeps floating away out there in internetland. I just switched my url to my blog to http://chica-x.blogspot.com/ that way folks could find me, before I find them or not.

    Cool idea with the WJP thing. I like the abbreviations better. 🙂

  3. I’m still hoping against hope that EFX2 will live in one form or another.

    I have faith.

    Still, I’m not giving this one up. What I’ll do is just double post or this one to EFX. Whatever.

    And the WJP is here to stay, regardless of where I hang my hat…

  4. We nomads have got to stick together.

    I would love for Efx2 to come back in some way, shape or form. I didn’t back up any of my posts for quite a while, so I definitely learned my lesson.

    WordPress is like a vacation home. It’s nice, but it’s just not home.

  5. Glad you’ve set up a new “home”. It’s pretty impressive that people have managed to find each other in the big bad internet-world when efx was ripped out from under us.

  6. I actually don’t mind WP at all.
    And I imagine I’ll like it more when I get it all figured out.

    There is some promising news on the efx2 front

    http://efx2blogs.com/blog/2007/09/12/welcome-to-the-new-efx2blogs/

  7. Thanks for the info, Ben. I think I’m keeping this one but can recover our old stuff, I’ll be more than satisfied.

    Still, it sucks they got hacked like that…

Leave a Reply

 
