WJP #013 – Can’t Help But Wait

I was talking to a friend the other day about the state of music right now.  The first thing he mentioned was how after the MTV Awards debacle, that Britney was done.  I looked at him and told him he couldn’t be more wrong.  If anything, it was the best thing that happened to her because it kept her name out there.  I reminded him that there is no such thing as bad press.  Now look who has the number one digital single out there right now… Britney Spears.  True, the song is straight garbage, but what did you expect?  It still has a killer beat and it’s a good first single to cause some buzz for the upcoming CD.

It got me thinking about what’s out there right now and how much mediocre shit we actually like and how much we don’t support new artists who are putting in work and making some truly innovative and good music.  Right now, I’m feeling Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings.  The retro sound, the musicianship, the whole nine.  The Dap-Kings are the ones who hooked up Amy Winehouse and knocked that “Back In Black” CD out the park.  I like J. Holiday’s “Back Of My Lac” simply because it shows the young man can sing different styles.  The CD that I have on constant play is Trey Songz’s “Trey Day”.  I’ll admit – I like Trey.  I think out of the young male vocalists out there right now, he has the most potential.  And he stays on his grind, knocking out mixtapes, remixes of hits, etc.  What scares me about Trey is his material – it seems he’s on that R. Kelly sex tip and he has the potential to go so much farther than that.  I think with the right material, he could be a certified A-Lister.

Of course it all doesn’t matter come November.  The big guns come to play.  Alicia Keys, Mary J. Blige, Mariah Carey, and oh yeah, some dude named Jay-Z.  Don’t get it twisted, “American Gangster” is going to be a fucking monster.  You think Hov ain’t got something to prove after “Kingdom Come”?  You think he forgot about that low ranking for the MTV Hot Right Now bullshit?  Be afraid, be very afraid.  Hov might be ending some careers with this one…

And then there’s 50.  I don’t know why he didn’t release that new DJ Whoo Kid mixtape as his CD, I really don’t.  It is a certified banger and literally makes you forget about “Curtis”.  It’s sick and if you can find it, download it, buy it, steal it, whatever.  It’s that hardcore shit you’ve been fiendin’ for.

There is one name I haven’t mentioned just because when it drops…. oh my God.  I mean, when I heard about it, I literally stared at the screen and said a silent thank you to the Lord above.  Because, there is only one name in hip-hop that can eclipse even the Great One, Jigga himself.

The Wu-Tang Clan is coming….

~ by sladewilson on October 8, 2007.

3 Responses to “WJP #013 – Can’t Help But Wait”

  1. I guess I am getting to old. I find myself staying with the classics, Stones, Seger, Springsteen, Beatles, Led, and such. I listen to the new stuff, but honestly, I don’t find it appealing.

    About Britney, absolutely true, her name is plastered all over, she makes sure the press is always around her. It puts food on the table.

  2. Ya know, Pat – I’m a classics sort of guy also but I try to stay current with Hip-Hop moreso than anything else. I will say the new kids in R&B are trying. A little seasoning and many of them will probably have long term careers.

    Britney is a hot mess.

  3. i stumbled upon your other site, the War Room, tried to comment on your religious questions, wouldn’t let me.
    No problem, just figured you quit here and stayed there.
    See you on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

 
