Rights Of Soul: What’s playing on my iPod – R&B Edition

I’ve been promising to write a new music post for awhile but Shake, Meka and Eskay have been dropping so much freakin’ crack lately, my iPod is on constant update!!! Damn you all!!! Now I have to wake up to freakin’ “Slaughterhouse” or my day ain’t right. Anyway, I thought I’d tell you where my head is at and why I had to pull back a moment and name my top ten R&B tracks right now that’s on constant play on the iPod. I’m waiting for collabo season to be over before I go in on a top ten Hip-Hop list and for these NMC niggas to pause so I can catch my breath and get a weekend to sit and listen to all of this yummy goodness they’ve been hittin’ us in da head with. Trying to listen to all of this on 16 hour days is not conductive – I keep passin’ the hell out…

(Damn if Crooked I didn’t go in on that Slaughterhouse, tho…)

Right now, I’ve been listening to a little bit of this and a little bit of that. BTW – if there’s no link, then I copped it from iTunes – y’all have to fend for self…sorry…

10. Marvin Gaye – Distant Lover (live). While the original is a classic, when Marvin performed this live, he took it to another level. You can hear the man’s desperation oozing out your speakers. True genius…

9. SugaRush Beat Company – L.O.V.E. Rahsaan Patterson’s new group is UK down and for the life of me I don’t understand why they can’t get their stuff over here to the U.S., but if their record company wanted to see them truly succeed, they’d get them on US iTunes like now. I’ve heard the new CD and it’s pure soul music at it’s best.

8. Keyshia Cole and Mario – Heaven Sent (remix). One of the two females on the list. Heaven Sent was my favorite cut on Keyshia’s latest and Mario just adds to it perfectly. These two need to hook up and do a proper duet…

7. Eric Benet – Chocolate Legs. Yeah, I know and I still love me the hottest MILF in the game, but you can’t front – Eric can sing. Give him a hot track and he kills it. This track right here? Play that with your girl and if you’re not getting any.. well – you’re never getting any. Move on..

6. Trey Songz – Love Song. Trey is upping his crooner game with this track. When he gets focused, he’s no joke.

5. Sterling Simms – All I Need Remix (feat. The Dream & Jadakiss). It’s about time Sterling gets some burn. Crazy talented, give him the right material and he straight kills it…

4. D’Angelo – I Found My Smile Again (2008 version). One, it’s one of the most important R&B acts of this decade. Only D would rock an old track just to let everyone know he’s back. Plus, the fact that it’s live and you can feel it breathe is just icing on the cake.

3. Beyonce – If I Were A Boy. She shoots. She scores. Again. I’m not feeling “Single Ladies” the song, but that video is absolute crack.

2. Luther Vandross – Love Won’t Let Me Wait (live). Luther live was almost a religious experience. If you ever saw the man live, you know of what I speak. He was one of those artists that your girl would scream her bloody head off and even you had give him his props. Besides, all the smart guys knew we’d reap the benefits of those love songs…

1. Craig David – My Love Don’t Stop & Take It Off. Craig David is one of those artists like Lynden David-Hall who, by all rights, should be a mega star but whoever manages them never took true advantage of the US market. Message to all UK artists – why are you letting all these white acts get the shine and you’re not following the blueprint? It’s stupid. Craig David’s CD – “The Story Goes” is awesome and these two songs are straight crack.

Alright – I’m going back in over at NMC central and see what other goodies have been left…

~ by sladewilson on October 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
