Remote Hoppin’: What’s the deal with “Heroes”?

Has “Heroes” shot it’s load? Ever since Hiro stayed in the past, the show has gone progressively downhill. Now it’s starting to respond to fan cravings for certain characters and using them badly. Sylar has been up and down all season. Peter has lost his abilities. Suresh has gone to the dark side and of all people, Arthur Petrelli has returned from the dead. Speaking of returning from the dead…

Does anyone stay dead on this damn show? I mean, come on already, can we kill a couple of folks and have them stay that way? Okay, Matt’s father looks like he’ll be keeping his dirt nap appointment but he was a c-lister at best. Peter gets tossed out of a seven story window and lives? With no powers? Are you kidding me? No one listens to common sense, the only loyal person seems to be Ando and he also seems to have the most common sense out of the entire cast.

More after the jump…

Plus does anyone retain what they’ve learned? Hiro and Claire especially seem like they have a permanent ticket on the Naive Train (I’m trying to be nice here but to be honest at home I call it the Stupid Train), Nathan makes dumb decision after dumb decision, Sylar can’t make up his mind whether to be good or bad (he could become the best anti-hero of the lot of them, but Kring seems bound and determined to keep him on the dark side) and Peter has some sense but terrible judgement in people. Peter really is the best candidate for anti-hero if Kring won’t use Sylar. Elle took a stupid pill this week, Daphne seems totally confused and scared and is probably the most real of all the newcomers. Jamie Hector (Knox) has embraced his villain role but he’s a minor player in this drama. Did anyone believe that little act they put on for Parkman? If he can really read minds, he would know exactly what both Knox and Daphne were up to in a minute. Parkman is another character with a permanent ticket on the Stupid Train (yeah, fuck being politically correct.)

The next arc is called “Fugitives” and why is it that I can see where this is going and it ain’t good. All the heroes on the run for their lives. Wow – what excitement. Let’s see the good guys get kicked around some more. It’s gotten so bad, they don’t even win the little battles. You’d think with a depression going on, Kring would see the signs and start having the heroes win a couple. I don’t know if he’s been paying attention but Tim, I’ll help you out here. The code word for 2008 is “hope”. Learn it and write accordingly. Plus, the arc might be titled “Villains” but the show is titled “Heroes” – give the good guys some, willya? If you don’t fix this fast, you might find yourself writing a quick series finale.

So the question is: is it fixable? That’s easy – of course it is. The great thing about “Heroes” is it is easily adaptable to any given situation and can turn any plot on it’s rear because we have suspended the belief in the unbelievable. Since we, the audience, has accepted the premise of “super beings” or people with extrodinary ablilites, they can change the outcome of any given premise at any given time. It’s the perfect “out” for a writer because all they have to do is literally flip the script and it can end up however they choose and we’ll ride with it. Where the problem lies is that “Heroes” has simply become depressing. It’s borderline on morbid, really. Forget guilty pleasure, this is like Catholic guilt – it’s constant, heavy and draining. Who wants to watch that? Isn’t the world depressing enough as it is? Isn’t television suppossed to be the “great escape”?

I think NBC will give Kring this last arc to turn things around, but those numbers better pick up and quick. If they don’t, well – I for one would not be surprised to hear about a “Heroes” TV movie series finale in it’s future. I don’t think Kring will let it come to that but stranger things have happened. Still, just in case the ratings numbers haven’t clued you in, Tim – I’m here to help. Fix this now or start thinking up a new show.

~ by sladewilson on October 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “Remote Hoppin’: What’s the deal with “Heroes”?”

  1. When you’re right you’re right my friend.
    I wish he’d go back and watch the first season so he (Kring) can remember why we fell in love with the show in the first place.
    I was ready to pack it in after the season premier, enough Sylar already, I was pissed that so many of the key players (Peter, Claire, Hiro, Suresh) completely changed for no reason and I hated the jumping from tie to time, it became hard to follow and confusing. The only reason I hung in there was because I hoped (beyond hope) that I was missing something and that given time Kring would clean it up. So far he’s not.
    I am still watching but I am so disappointed. This show had so much potential and is not delivering at all.

  2. I must say, I’ve watched about two episodes of 2nd season and then I didn’t bother anymore.

    But as you recommended I started to watch Fringe and so far I am enjoying it a lot. It’s not totally X-Files, it has more… warmth, I guess. Also, I am starting on True Blood.

  3. Kring better get off his ass, that’s all I’ll say about it. Shit is depressing.

    Fringe, on the other hand, is the best new show out right now and The Eleventh Hour is close as number two. I know the buzz is about Life on Mars but The Eleventh Hour smokes it. That show is crack!!!

Leave a Reply

 
