Rights Of Soul: Slaughterhouse is Here…

null

Finally the beast has been released…

After a couple of drops to whet the appetite of hip-hop internet soldiers worldwide, the supergroup named Slaughterhouse finally dropped the CD on August 11th.

Yeah, that was why your internet connection was acting all wonky.

Now, true ‘net fiends had the album at least two weeks prior but since that wasn’t the official drop, I didn’t post on it. (Yeah, I copped it but I still pre-ordered thru iTunes – because I support the real artists) Now that the monster is out, this will be quick…

First off – the track list basically tells the story:

1. Sound Off
2. Lyrical Murderers (feat. Kay Young)
3. Microphone
4. Not Tonight
5. The One (feat. The New Royales)
6. In the Mind of Madness (Skit)
7. Cuckoo
8. The Phone Call (Skit)
9. Onslaught 2 (feat. Fatman Scoop)
10. The Phone Call 2 (Skit)
11. Salute (feat. Pharoahe Monch)
12. Pray (It’s A Shame)
13. Cut You Loose
14. Raindrops (feat. Novel)
15. Killaz
16. Fight Klub (bonus track)
17. Cuckoo (Instrumental) (bonus track)
18. The One (Instrumental) (bonus track)

Get the idea? Okay, onto the very brief review. Probably the best hip-hop CD I’ve heard in at least two years, still perfection wasn’t achieved. I liked the guest shots (esp. Pharoahe, Fatman Scoop and Novel) and although at least three songs have been released for a hot minute, everything sounded fresh. Complaint #1 – the instrumental bonus tracks – why? What happened to the M.O.P. track? Why not add “Wack MC’s”? And why these two tracks? Okay, “The One” is your first single, so that’s kind of understandable but why “Cuckoo” when y’all got track burners like “Onslaught 2” and “Microphone”?

Complaint #2 – Another brief one – the skits are funny but y’all could’ve lightened the load with at least one more light-hearted track.

Okay, those are my complaints. Otherwise – OMG… get this. Now. If you don’t have this, you already have “FAIL” stamped on your forehead. The CD is a beast. And, I’m just puttin this out there: I’m a Joey stan but because of Slaughterhouse I’ve realized that Joell is a better lyricist than I gave him credit for. I always thought his flow and energy was his strongest points but the wordplay is no joke. I’m an even bigger Royce fan than I was (which now places Royce squarely in my top 5 in the game) and last but not least, Crooked I is a monster and everyone in the game should fear this man.

Cop it. Get it. Live it….

I’m out and going back under the headphones…

~ by sladewilson on August 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “Rights Of Soul: Slaughterhouse is Here…”

  1. Good to know! I haven’t listened to a good hip-hop album in years. I’m still waiting for the revival.

  2. Hey,

    I was just surfing the web and I came across this page. I really liked the info, keep up the good work.

    Peace

Leave a Reply

 
